BEING YOUNG AND FREE IN THE 21ST CENTURY

I AM FREE:
*WHEN I THINK ABOUT MY GRAN WHO ENTRUSTED ME TO TAKE CARE OF HER WHEN SHE BATTLED WITH CANCER.
*WHEN I DECIDE NOT TO WORK IN THE BANK BECAUSE SOCIETY BELIEVES THAT IT’S A JOB BEST SUITED FOR COLOURED PEOPLE.
*TO ENGAGE WITH LIKE-MINDED PEOPLE.
*WHEN I AM ABLE TO EXPRESS MYSELF WITHOUT BEING JUDGED.
*TO DECIDE WHO I WANT TO LOVE UNLIKE SOME OF MY CLASSMATES WHO WERE FORCED TO MARRY WITHIN THEIR RELIGION.
*WHEN I CAN BE OF ASSISTANCE TO SOMEONE ELSE.
*TO MAKE DECISIONS ABOUT MY FUTURE.
*AROUND PEOPLE WHO BELIEVE IN ME LIKE KAISA.
*WHEN I EAT.
*WHEN I DECIDE TO WEAR BLACK BECAUSE IT’S MY HAPPY COLOUR.
*TO SAY THAT I AM A CHRISTIAN BECAUSE JESUS DIED FOR ME.
*TO UNPACK MY EMOTIONS.
*TO LISTEN TO MUSIC THAT SPEAKS TO MY SOUL.
*WHEN I WALK THROUGH THE MALL AND SEE SOME EYE CANDY.
*TO GET A POCKET KNIFE TO PROTECT MYSELF.
*TO ATTEND FAMILY GATHERINGS AND BE MYSELF.

I AM NOT FREE:
*WHEN I THINK OF TRUSTING SOMEONE WITH MY LIFE.
*WHEN I LAUGH OUT LOUD AND SOMEONE TELLS ME THAT I’M LOUD.
*WHEN I SEE SOMEONE IN NEED OF HELP AND FEELING LIKE MY HANDS HAVE BEEN CUT OFF BECAUSE I’M BROKE.
*TO TAKE A GUY WHO I LOVE, NO MATTER HOW FREELY I LOVE HIM, TO MEET MY FAMILY BECAUSE THEY AREN’T VERY KEEN ON INTERRACIAL RELATIONSHIPS.
*WHEN I TELL MY MOM THAT I AM VOLUNTEERING AND STUDYING BECAUSE IT DOESN’T BRING AN INCOME.
*WHEN I AM PLACED IN A BOX BASED PURELY ON MY SKIN COLOUR.
*WHEN I WALK THROUGH CENTRAL JOZI AND TAXI DRIVERS HOLLA AT ME.
*WHEN I THINK ABOUT THE DAY WHEN TWO GUYS DECIDED TO ROB ME AT GUN POINT.
*WHEN I CAN’T CHANGE PEOPLES PERCEPTION OF ME. I WAS BORN AS A NONCOMFORMIST.
ME

THE ABILITY TO EXPRESS MYSELF SHOULDN’T HAVE A SKIN COLOUR. WE ARE NO LONGER SEGREGATED AS PER THE APARTHEID REGIME? THE FACT THAT I AM YOUNG AND NOT QUITE SURE OF WHAT I WANT SHOULD BE MY CONCERN, NOT THE CONCERN OF  THOSE WHO DON’T BELIEVE IN MY VISION OR REFUSE TO RESPECT MY HUSTLE. BEING A WOMAN IN SOUTH AFRICA SHOULD BE A BLESSING AND NOT A CURSE. I WANT TO WALK THROUGH THE STREETS OF JOZI WITHOUT ANY FEAR OF SOMEONE HURTING ME. FREEDOM DOESN’T BELONG TO ME, IT BELONGS TO US ALL. USE IT WITH RESPECT.
THE FREEDOM TO EXPLORE LIFE AS IT UNFOLDS IS A CHOICE. FOR NOW I NEED TO KEEP MOVING THROUGH WRITING AND RADIO. EZWENI LAMI NEYAKHO IT’S USALE KAHLE OKWAMANJE.

4 thoughts on “BEING YOUNG AND FREE IN THE 21ST CENTURY

  1. Reblogged this on realnewsbyseetelo and commented:
    How free are you as a young person,as we celebrate Youth Month in this 21 years of Democracy?.

  2. I am free when i get to read such inspiring materials and get a wake up call,Thank You Miss Hein!

Leave a Reply

